• Jesse Tomlinson
    guitar & vocals
  • Shawn Walker
  • Brian Vanderwerf
    guitar & vocals
  • Paul Wells
    bass & vocals
  • Harold Longley
    bass trombone
  • Bob DeBoer
  • Zach Zins
    tenor trombone


Chooglin's rave–up R&B punk is addictive and unstoppable—a bender that’s too good to park in rehab.

City Pages

With a bleating horn section and ferocious guitar playing, the band is a boogie–rock juggernaut that has the guts and the skills to deliver greasy, proto–Stax soul with as much power and conviction as their relentless, riff–driven rockers.

Nashville rock critic,
Ari Surdoval

So does Nashville rock critic Ari Surdoval describe Chooglin’ and their third album, Sweet Time, released to much acclaim in June 2009 on Big Legal Mess/Fat Possum Records. The band’s fans had been braying for a second studio release after Chooglin’s eponymous debut was described by the Twin Cities’ City Pages as “addictive and unstoppable—a bender that's too good to park in rehab”. The same paper in 2007 named Chooglin’ as the “best album of the past 12 months”, and the band, formed by members of Estrus Records’ Midnight Evils, who recorded a JOHN PEEL SESSION for the BBC,and bolstered by a sterling reputation as a live dynamo, were off and strutting.

A second album, Nice Place, Nice Party, Nice Folks, recorded live at Minneapolis’ legendary 7th Street Entry and released on Heart of a Champion Records, captured that frenetic live sound enough to send their reputation into rarified air. By the summer of 2009, Chooglin’ had shared stages with The Reverend Horton Heat, The Dirtbombs, Jay Reatard, The Black Lips, King Khan & BBQ, and The Black Diamond Heavies.

In 2008, the band signed to Big Legal Mess/Fat Possum Records and recorded their record, Sweet Time at Creation Studios in Minneapolis, home to recordings by The Replacements’ TIM, Husker Du, "Surfin' Bird" by The Trashmen. The record was produced by Fat Possum's Bruce Watson and engineered by Tom Herbers---whose long resume includes working with Low, The Jayhawks, and Soul Aslylum.

The release of Sweet Time in July 2009 received such positive local, national, and international reviews -- including a stellar review by Norway’s most prominent rock critic, Øyvind Pharo -- that Chooglin’ was immediately launched on several national and European tours over the next 18 months. The touring peaked in May 2010 with two gigs at Bergenfest in Bergen, Norway, where Chooglin’ shared a roster with Lou Reed, Charlie Watts, The New York Dolls, Randy Newman, Femi Kuti, The Heavy, and dozens of other world–renowned artists.

But 2011 portends no let–up in Chooglin’s frantic schedule. Another month–long residency at Palmer’s Bar in Minneapolis this January promises horny brass licks hot enough to slug Ol’ Man Winter in his frozen privates. A split 7″ with Alabama rockers The Dexateens and a live record on the stand up! Records comedy label -- featuring a night of music by Chooglin' and stand up! comedians -- are both scheduled for release in early 2011. In February/March the band will tour France for 2 weeks and this spring they will be recording their new record.

For the full history of Chooglin' as a band, please click here:

  • poster7
  • poster8
  • poster9
  • poster10

« go to the top of the page